“Honor (respect) thy Mother”

Editor’s Note: This was written after the birth of our youngest, Joshua, in 1998.

Josh with Mom, Jill

“Honor (respect) thy Mother”

Respect, or lack there of, is a popular discussion.  It is often blamed for society’s ills and the problems of youth.  I must agree there seems to be a growing lack of respect in the world today.  This is not a new phenomenon nor is it a passing fad, but a SIN that continues to increase.  I’m not as concerned about the “world”, it will continue to get worse; it is the members of the church, the followers of Christ, us, that have to be aware to not “err because [we] are taught by the precepts of man” (2 Nephi 28:14).

More specifically, I speak of our Mothers.  “Honour thy father and thy mother: that thy days may be long upon the land which the LORD thy God giveth thee. (Exodus 20:12)  So important is this commandment that the Lord etched it in stone. (Exodus 31:18)  To “honor thy mother”, in today’s terms, mean’s to “respect thy mother”.  There are many references to this “respect” in the scriptures, consequences of both obedience and disobedience to the commandment, “And he that smiteth his father, or his mother, shall be surely put to death. And he that curseth his father, or his mother, shall surely be put to death.” (Exodus 21:15 & 17)  Pretty straight forward and clear.

This past week I had the opportunity to witness God’s work as another one of His spirits entered this world.  Little Joshua was born on April 24.  As I watched and participated in his birth, I was continually amazed at how much Jill, Joshua’s mother, sacrificed.  It has been on my mind since; not just Jill’s sacrifice, but my mother’s and other mothers and ALL mothers.  They literally risk their lives to give us life.  And now as I look into my new son’s little eyes I can’t help wonder, “Will he respect his mother when he’s 15?”  “Will he cause her pain?”  “Will he treat her as he should or will he ridicule and make fun of her?”  If only I could show him, show him the pain, the sweat, the blood, the tears it took for her to get him here, HE WOULD NEVER DISRESPECT HER, NEVER. No matter what Jill does from here on out, no matter the mistakes, no matter the embarrassments, no matter what, because of this one act, Joshua can NEVER justify disrespecting his mother.

Then the question turns to: “Do I respect my mother?”  “Do my actions reflect the respect my birth demands I give to my mother?”  It is my prayer that I can better “honor my mother” and all mothers.  And that our youth can realize, at least to some small degree, what it took for their mothers to get them here.  I know I will strive to teach Joshua what his mother did for him on April 24, 1998.

One Response to “Honor (respect) thy Mother”

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention “Honor (respect) thy Mother” « "The Things of My Soul" -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

