From Every Pore

Stonework from the Garden of Gethsemane

I have to admit, I am a BYU-TV junkie. (Some call it being a “church nerd”) I don’t really care for the “homemaking” types of programs and even the Family History stuff tends to put me to sleep. (Sorry Rach) But the scripture round tables and programs are phenomenal. From the Book of Mormon to the Lectures on Faith, BYU faculty members discuss the content, context and application of the Word of God. Much of my personal quest for gospel scholarship includes this type of BYU programming.

Perhaps the best of these programs is called, Messiah: Behold the Lamb of God. The series of eight, hour-long episodes, is a virtual tour through the New Testament including commentary from sacred spots in Galilee and Jerusalem and incredibly thoughtful insights from over 40 scholars. Many of the scholars are religion professors but educators from other disciplines add their unique perspectives as well.

There are many moving testimonies throughout the program but one given by Cecilia M. Peek, a professor of classics, regarding the sufferings of the Savior in Gethsemane is both tender and powerful.

Here is that testimony. If you want a deeper understanding of Jesus, His life, atonement and resurrection, watch the entire series.  Let me know what you think.

4 Responses to From Every Pore

  1. Ben says:

    I’m a big BYU-TV fan too. Sadly, however, I haven’t seen this Messiah series. But after having watched the above clip/testimony, I’m going to set the DVR for it. That’s exactly the kind of programming I want to spend my very limited time watching. Thanks for posting it.

  2. Ben says:

    I just did a search and couldn’t find the series. Can you help me out and let me know when it’s on? Thanks.

  3. Troy says:

    Ben, follow the link in the title of the series above (in the text of the post). It will take you to the official page. You can watch all of the episodes on demand over the computer.

  4. Pingback: We will not come down, not even part way. « "The Things of My Soul"

Leave a Reply

