Remembering Elder Neal A. Maxwell, his discipleship and his birthday

NOTE: This is a tweak of a previous post that I wanted to do to honor Elder Maxwell on his birthday.

My wife, Jill and I love to go to Education Week at Brigham Young University every fall. It is a time for us to be together (without kids) and fill our spiritual reservoirs.

We attended last August and it was beyond awesome. One of my favorite moments was walking down the hall of the Wilkinson Center and seeing Dr. Robert Millet, one of our favorite presenters, visiting with Cory Maxwell. Normally I would be in awe of Dr. Millet but this time I was struck with a feeling of reverence as I saw Bro. Maxwell. He is the son of the late, Elder Neal A. Maxwell. Those who know me well know that I absolutely loved Neal A. Maxwell.

Elder Maxwell was incredible. His talks were inspiring and his style was classic. As President Gordon B. Hinckley said at Elder Maxwell’s funeral, “We shall not see one like him again.” Every sentence of his talks was doctrinally dense. For me, they were three-dimensional. That is, the written words didn’t lay flat on the page but had depth and could lead the listener and reader on an infinite journey to discover beautiful doctrines and principles.

I miss Elder Maxwell. But I miss him most two times a year; April and October. That is when we would all anticipate Elder Maxwell’s talk. As the July Fourth celebration passes each year and July 6th nears (Elder Maxwell’s birthday) I can’t help taking a few minutes to remember him. I have over 70 of his talks on my iPod and I find myself listening to his alliteration-peppered, doctrinally dense “music.” Don’t get me wrong, I love our living leaders. I am always excited to hear from Elders Holland, Bednar, Oaks, Hales etc. (Not necessarily in that order). But it feels good, calming, even elevating just to hear Elder Maxwell’s voice.

When Brother Millet and Brother Maxwell (Cory) were done visiting, I followed Brother Maxwell and touched him on the arm. This was my chance to thank, in some way, Elder Maxwell for the affect he has had on my life and more importantly on my discipleship. I thanked Cory for his and his family’s sacrifice in sharing their father with the entire Church. Cory was gracious (like his father) and we visited for a few minutes. I told him about my audio collection and he mentioned that he had visited his mother that week and had been listening to a talk by “Dad”.

As a little birthday present, I invite you to share your favorite Neal A. Maxwell quote in the comment section.

Happy Birthday Elder Maxwell!

5 Responses to Remembering Elder Neal A. Maxwell, his discipleship and his birthday

  1. Troy says:

    “If the Church were not true, our enemies would be bored rather than threatened, and acquiescent rather than anxious. Hell is moved only when things move heavenward.”

  2. Troy says:

    “Christ never brushed aside those in need because He had bigger things to do!”

    “Strangely, though desensitized, some are still able to hear the beckoning click of a TV camera at a hundred yards. Doesn’t the churning over the places of mortal power remind us of the childhood game of musical chairs?”

  3. Jill Parker says:

    “The submission of one’s will is really the only uniquely personal thing we have to place on God’s altar. The many other things we “give” . . . are actually the things He has already given or loaned to us. However, when you and I finally submit ourselves, by letting our individual wills be swallowed up in God’s will, then we are really giving something to Him! It is the only possession which is truly ours to give!”

  4. Jenni says:

    “Sin… brings sameness; it shrinks us to addictive appetites and insubordinate impulses. For a brief surging, selfish moment, sin may create the illusion of individuality, but only as in the grunting, galloping Gadarene swine!”

  5. Pingback: Voice of our Leaders (Poll) « "The Things of My Soul"

Leave a Reply

