The Spirit communicates with more than tears.

A few fast Sundays ago, a full-time missionary assigned to our ward bore his testimony or witness of the Savior and restoration of His Church. His was a heartfelt declaration of his love for the Gospel, Jesus Christ, his missionary companion and the members of the ward. He attempted to explain the feelings he has when he feels the Spirit. He struggled to describe the experience and finally said that, for him, it felt like when he played sports only a thousand times better.

One of the struggles persons of faith have is describing for others how they feel the Spirit. It is like describing the taste of salt – you just can’t find the appropriate words.

I understood what the missionary was saying. That is how I most often feel the Spirit, exhilaration, jubilation, excitement, an almost giddy feeling accompanied by a thought of rightness. Mind and heart agree when the Spirit speaks. But you may feel it differently. Perhaps you feel the “burning in the bosom” referred to in the Doctrine and Covenants or the “pure intelligence flowing into your mind” described by the prophet Joseph Smith.  Or maybe you feel something  entirely different.

Additionally, I have felt the Spirit differently at different times in my life and I have had differing spiritual feelings for different types of spiritual experiences.  The point is, the Spirit communicates with all of us in many different ways.

Perhaps the most common and obvious indications that someone may be feeling the Spirit is when they become emotional. They will become choked-up and tears will flow.  We see this all the time in the Church and we are often “moved” as well when someone is having these types of spiritual experiences.

This familiar spiritual signal can, however, be misleading because remember, we all don’t feel the Spirit the same way. Just because I’m not crying doesn’t mean I’m not feeling the Spirit, and becoming emotional is not in and of itself what constitutes feeling the Spirit.

One of life’s biggest challenges is figuring out how The Spirit communicates with our spirit. If we can somehow tune in or open our spiritual curtains, the Spirit will “show” us “all things” we should do.

Below is list of SOME of the ways the Spirit communicates with us.  If we limit our vision of the Spirit to just a trickle, we may miss the downpour.

How do you feel the Spirit? Let us know in the comments.


SOME of the ways we feel the Spirit

Particular Feelings

  • Joy –  D&C 11:13
  • Peace – D&C 6:23
  • Burning – D&C 9:8
  • Love – Romans 5:5
  • Comfort – Isaiah 51:12

Excitement – Mosiah 5:1

Understanding & Enlightenment

D&C 11:13

A person may profit by noticing the first intimation of the spirit of revelation; for instance, when you feel pure intelligence flowing into you, it may give you sudden strokes of ideas, so that by noticing it you may find it fulfilled the same day or soon; (i.e.) those things that were presented unto your minds by the Spirit of God will come to pass; and thus by learning the Spirit of God and understanding it you may grow into the principle o revelation, until you become perfect in Christ Jesus. -Joseph Smith, Jr., Documentary History of the Church 3:381, June 27, 1839

Edification – Enlarging or swelling of the Soul

  • Alma 32:28 & 34
  • D&C 50:22-23

Change in behavior or desires

  • Mosiah 5:2
  • Alma 5:14 & 26

Observation (results can be seen)

  • Alma 32:30-35
  • John 7:16-17

Memory will revive

  • John 14:26

Taste – Sweetness and deliciousness

  • Alma 32:28

This is good doctrine.  It tastes good.  I can taste the principles of eternal life, and so can you.  They are given to me by the revelations of Jesus Christ; and I know that when I tell you these words of eternal life as they are given to me, you taste them, and I know that you believe them.  You say honey is sweet, and so do I. I can also taste the Spirit of eternal life.  I know it is good; and when I tell you of these things were given me by the inspiration of the Holy Spirit, you are bound to receive them as sweet and rejoice more and more.  – Joseph Smith, King Follet Discourse

Persuaded to believe in and follow Christ

  • Moroni 7:16-17
9 Responses to The Spirit communicates with more than tears.

  1. Letia says:

    I feel empowered to choose the right when I feel the spirit. In the moments where I feel the spirit I feel an overwhelming desire to follow Christ and shun Satan even with the most tempting things. I love that we have that agency!

  2. Brooke says:

    When I was in my primary, I thought that you had to cry to be able to feel the Spirit. There are so many ways to feel things! It really depends what I’m trying to gain, for me. Sometimes when I feel the Spirit I cry. Other times there is a feeling that everything will be okay. Other times it overwhelms me. Personally, it depends.

    • Troy says:

      I’m with you Brooke.If we don’t realize that the Spirit “speaks” to us in many different ways, we may just miss it. Thanks for the comment.

  3. Diane says:

    “Mind and heart agree when the Spirit speaks” I like this. Great way of describing the experience of feeling the Spirit.

    For me, feeling the Spirit is sometimes like a rush of adrenaline. It’s a “go and do”urgent sensation with a do not delay, do not waver. Clear focus with determined purpose …. not unlike your “opening of the curtains.”

  4. Aunt Ruth says:

    In the classes I have taught over the years, especially as a teacher development leader, I have learned one great thing. And I’ve have shared this numerous times. We have three levels of learning. The first is the Intellectual Level-this is the thought that (for example)…you’re standing at the kitchen sink and you feel intellectually (you know) that Sister Smith down the street is hurting. You “know” this on the intellectual level. The second level of learning is with the heart. Same scene…you say, “Oh I feel so bad for Sister Smith. I feel her pain.” But you do nothing. Then there is the Third Level of Learning…that is the Spiritual Level or “Doing Level”. On this level you are so moved that you drop what you are doing and go to Sister Smith and comfort, give aide and love her. We can’t always be on this level because it takes time and energy BUT when we do it is MOST powerful and rewarding. To be led by the spirit is the ultimate in the human condition.

  5. Mrs N says:

    One of my favorite manifestations of the Spirit is when a thought comes to mind and I feel overwhelmingly the rightness of the impression. It’s so strong that it’s more like knowledge than a feeling.

Leave a Reply

