How far will He go to Redeem?

One of my favorite chapters (ok, really, I don’t have a favorite – there are just too many) is also the longest chapter of the Book of Mormon. Jacob 5 is a prophecy about the House of Israel written by the prophet Zenos detailing their fall, their recovery and the Lord’s unrelenting effort to redeem His people. I have written about the love the Lord has for each us and the importance of being grafted into the roots or covenants. It is 77 verses of the Lord and His servants doing everything they can to save the vineyard.

This time through, as is often the case, something new jumped from the inspired pages. Jacob is delivering a straight forward, this-is-the-way-it-is talk about pride and morality. Then referring to the Jews who have rejected the Lord and anyone of us who have sinned, he asks, “And now, my beloved, how is it possible that these, after having rejected the sure foundation, can ever build upon it, that it may become the head of their corner?” (Jacob 4:17) How can the Lord ever forgive anyone who rejects His “sure foundation?” How can I ever be recovered or redeemed.

Jacob answers his own question. “Behold, my beloved brethren, I will unfold this mystery unto you; if I do not, by any means, get shaken from my firmness in the Spirit, and stumble because of my over anxiety for you.” (Jacob 4:18) Jacob then tells us, after all our imperfectness, after all our stupidity and ridiculousness, how it is that we can be forgiven. Zenos’ 77 verse prophecy follows. The longest chapter of the Book of Mormon was included to show us the infinite love and effort that Heavenly-Father and the Savior will expend to help you and me return home.

Leave a Reply

