Having His hands placed upon my head

I must admit, because I have served in the Young Men’s programs of the Church for almost all of my adult life, I have not attended very many High Priest Group meetings on Sundays. In fact, until now, I don’t think I’ve attended two weeks in a row. High Priest Groups generally have a reputation for either being a time for the “more seasoned” men of the ward to take naps or for less-than-stellar teaching – or both. But this past Sunday I was visiting my parents ward in Coos Bay, Oregon, where I heard a really cool thought (just to debunk the aforementioned reputation.)

Those who hold the Priesthood have the opportunity (and responsibility) to do as was done in The Bible and place their hands on the heads of the sick and afflicted to pronounce a blessing of health and comfort. In the context of giving these “blessings” an older brother in the Group pointed out the scripture found in Doctrine and Covenants 36:2:

And I [the Lord] will lay my hand upon you by the hand of my servant Sidney Rigdon, and you shall receive my Spirit, the Holy Ghost, even the Comforter, which shall teach you the peaceable things of the kingdom.

And then he explained that every time he gave a blessing or acted in his Priesthood responsibilities, he remembered this scripture and that, especially in these cases, we are truly the Lord’s hands. Yes, it is us laying hands on the heads of those we bless, but we are doing it in place of, in proxy for, the Lord himself.

It made me think of the responsibility we have as holders of the Priesthood to perform our duties as if it were Lord doing them. Further, it made me consider the privilege it is to receive a blessing and that the person’s hands upon my head symbolizes the marked and pierced hands of the Savior himself.  What a blessing it is to be blessed by He who blessed so many. It was a good High Priest Group meeting.

Leave a Reply

