Another reason to love sports – March Madness and Murray State

Last fall I wrote a post highlighting some of the reasons I really like team sports. This morning I was watching the mega coverage of the NCAA’s March Madness. It truly is the best sports time of the year. In their coverage CBS (along with TNT, TBS & TruTV) focused in on the Murray State Racers.

Murray State University is located in Murray, Kentucky and is coached by Steve Prohm. They faced the Colorado State Rams in the first round of the “Big Dance” yesterday. I love the CSU coach, Tim Miles. When BYU was still in the Mountain West Conference, I used to watch a reality show that highlighted Colorado State and they had Coach Miles mike’d-up. He is a wonderfully entertaining, personable basketball coach. (He knows how to coach too!)  So, when Murray State faced Colorado State yesterday, I was pulling for the Rams.

By the end of the game, I was thoroughly impressed with the Racers’ defense and energy. They just applied intense defensive pressure that completely took the Rams out of the game. Then as CBS ran the following story, I became a bigger fan of the Racers and once again, I was reminded of the reasons I love sports. Note the comments by Villanova’s coach Jay Wright after the piece. I love March!

NOTE: You may remember President Dieter F. Uchdorf’s conference talk where he uses the same scripture as Coach Prohm. It was an awesome talk: “We Are Doing a Great Work and Cannot Come Down.”

Leave a Reply

